Nation’s Best Easter Egg Bound

Media Release: GRNSW

Australia’s owners and trainers have thrown their support behind the Macro Meats Golden Easter Egg with the final field set to include the cream of greyhound racing talent.

No less than eight Group One winners have been accepted into the heats on Saturday 20 March ensuring an exceptional array of speedsters for the richest free entry race in the world.

The elite field includes 2010’s dual Group One winner Dyna Lachlan, favourite for tonight’s Australian Greyhound of the Year gong Cindeen Shelby, Topgun winner Fedex and National Derby hero Elite Blue Size.

In fact all eight finalists from the recent Group One Australian Cup have pledged into their support to the pinnacle of the Australian greyhound racing calendar.

But trying to bring them down will be 2009 champion Dana Beatrice. She and trainer Rod McDonald are attempting to become the first greyhound and trainer to win the Golden Easter Egg twice in its 20 year history.

NSW Greyhound Breeders Owners and Trainers’ Association Executive Officer Brenton Scott said the response to the $250, 000-to-the-winner event had been overwhelming.

“Just by looking at the top 80 greyhounds for the Macro Meats Golden Easter Egg, you can appreciate that we really can expect the exceptional in this year’s event,” he said.

“The response from all around the country has been phenomenal to the major boost in prizemoney and we expect Australia’s richest race to cement itself as the premier event on not only the Australian calendar, but on the international one too.”

For more information please contact

GRNSW Communications Coordinator Adam Pengilly

Ph: (02) 8767 0517

0401 641 943


NSW GBOTA Executive Officer

Brenton Scott

Ph: (02) 9649 7166

0438 402 198