Dyna Lachlan Wins 2010 MTD Australian Cup

On Saturday night Andrea Dailly’s star sprinter Dyna Lachlan claimed an impressive victory in the $150, 000 Group 1 MTD Australian Cup (525m) at The Meadows scoring a momentous Adelaide Cup – Australian Cup double win.

Starting the race as the $3.10 favourite, Dyna Lachlan exploded over the final metres after sitting second for most of the race to claim a 3 ½ length victory ahead of Galba Jack ($5.90) with the Robert Britton-trained Prankster ($8.10) a further 3 ¾ lengths back for third.

Other top elects at $4.30 Birthday Boy and High Earner had a horror run. Birthday Boy, who was the fastest heat qualifier, was a distant seventh over 11 ½ lengths back from the winner while Queensland chaser High Earner failed to finish.

Dyna Lachlan was first to jump, beginning brilliantly from box one. Beside him in box two Galba Jack also got away well and got to the front ahead of Dyna Lachlan early on.

Going into the first turn High Earner (five) came into trouble, colliding with Birthday Boy (eight). High Earner fell off out the back and was out of the race while Birthday Boy regained balance but never made up the ground. Manuel Bale was also caught up in the clash ruining any chance he had of a top three finish.

Galba Jack continued to maintain a two length lead through the bend but it wasn’t long before Dyna Lachlan made his move on the outside, closing the gap and then overtaking the pacesetter on the straight before coasting to victory.

Meanwhile Hobart Thousand winner Prankster ran to the rails and stormed home for third in what was his sixth Group 1 final since November.

Dyna Lachlan, a son of Go Wild Teddy out of Benden Flex, ran a blistering 29.84 over the 525m sprint feature and has now won 24 of his 40 race starts. His impressive total career prizemoney now stands at $434, 555 as he closes in on Rapid Journey’s Australian prizemoney record of $530, 995.

The other feature race at the meeting was the $50, 000 final of the Group 1 Macro Meats Super Stayers where Drill ‘Em reigned supreme.

2010 MTD Australian Cup Results:

Place Greyhound Trainer Margin
2 GALBA JACK J R Maple 3.50
3 PRANKSTER R J Britton 7.25
4 DYNA OBELLA A L Dailly 9.25
5 ARVO’S BREEZE T Womann 11.25
6 MANUEL BALE A L Dailly 11.50
7 BIRTHDAY BOY S J Elsum 11.55