Birthday Boy Fastest Australian Cup Heat Winner

Media Release: AGRA

There has never been any question about the ability of the Steven Elsum-trained greyhound Birthday Boy, but he gets the chance to take his career to another level in this Saturday night’s Group 1 Australian Cup final at The Meadows.

Birthday Boy was the fastest of the eight heat winners by some three and a half lengths on Saturday night when clocking the sensational time of 29.71sec over the 525m.

The next fastest heat time was recorded by 2009 Hobart Thousand winner Prankster (29.91), followed by High Earner (29.92) and Galba Jack (29.94).

Other heat winners were Dyna Lachlan (30.80), Manuel Bale (30.20), Arvo’s Breeze (30.22) and Dyna Obelia (30.47), with all eight earning their way into the prestigious final.

While Birthday Boy has posted an impressive 21 wins from 70 career starts, victory this Saturday night would be his first at group level and would see the son of Where’s Pedro claim a $150, 000 first prize.

Meanwhile, promising South Australian distance chaser Satanic Cash was the fastest of two heat winners in the Group 1 Macro Meats Super Stayers series on Saturday night over 725m at The Meadows.

Satanic Cash made it 12 wins from 25 starts when defeating Drill ‘Em by three lengths in 42.43sec, while the other heat winner was the Jason Thompson-trained Next Top Model in 42.89sec.

The $50, 000 to-the-winner Group 1 Macro Meats Super Stayers final will be run at this Saturday night’s Australian Cup meeting.

All roads lead to The Meadows on Saturday night with a host of entertainment to be enjoyed on course and some red hot action on the track with the highlights the two Group 1 finals, the MTD Australian Cup and the Macro Meats Super Stayers Trophy.

For more information please contact:

Neil Brown

AGRA Publicity Officer

Ph: (03) 9769 1234


Brenton Scott

AGRA Executive Officer

Ph: (02) 9649 7166