NSW Run of the Year Voting Open

Written By: GRNSW

For the first time in New South Wales, the general public have the opportunity to voice an opinion on which greyhound had the best run of the year as part of the Betfair NSW Greyhound of the Year awards.

The “People’s Choice” 2009 Run of the Year voting commenced on Monday January 11, with members of www.thedogs.com.au able to watch replays of each of the five nominated runs, part of the new TAB race replay feature being rolled out across the website at present.

Once viewed, members can then log a single vote for their favourite on The Dogs site.

The 2009 Run of the Year winner will be announced at the greyhound industry’s night of nights, the Betfair NSW Greyhound of the Year awards, at the Sydney Hilton on Friday 12 February 2010.

A panel of greyhound industry media settled on the five Run of the Year nominees which are:

Sand Burner (Richmond, 21 August)

Cosmic Rumble (Wentworth Park, 26 September)

Outa Credit (Wentworth Park, 17 October)

Fancy Mandy (Wentworth Park, 24 October)

Amity Bale (Wentworth Park, 14 November)

Respected greyhound writer Peter Davis, part of the selection panel, supported the claims of Outa Credit.

“The merit in any run, regardless of the result, comes in effort we can all see,” Davis said.

“Outa Credit’s performance to finish third on October 17 at his Wentworth Park debut was just remarkable and we should not necessarily look at the fact that he was beaten, but more his wholehearted run.”

Another one of the judging team, Jeff Collerson, liked Fancy Mandy’s effort a week later at Glebe headquarters.

“I thought it was the best run of the year,” Collerson said. “She was caught between two rivals at the first turn and it looked like she was going to get spat out the back, but she just kept pushing up and pushing up. She eventually pushed her way through. I thought it was a classic exhibition of keen chasing.”

Anyone can vote for the run of the year but to do so you must sign up to become a free member of www.thedogs.com.au to allow voting to be restricted to one vote per member account.

As part of the voting, one lucky voter will also win two tickets to the Betfair NSW Greyhound of the Year night including accommodation at the Sydney Hilton on Friday 12 February, 2010. The winner will also be invited to present the Run of the Year trophy on stage to connections of the winning greyhound.

Voting will be open for three weeks, closing at midnight on Sunday 31 January 2010.

Tickets are on sale for the Betfair NSW Greyhound of the Year – a night which promises to exceed the 2009 edition.

Tickets are on sale for just $110 per person, which includes a full three course dinner, drinks and entertainment.

Book your tickets online at The Dogs, or club and corporate packages are available and can be purchased by contacting GRNSW on (02) 8767 0500.