Debate to Rage Over Betfair Greyhound of the Year Awards

Written by: GRNSW

Nominations are now open and tickets are on sale for the 2009 Betfair New South Wales Greyhound of the Year awards.

To be held at the Sydney Hilton on Friday 12 February 2010, the New South Wales greyhound racing industry night of nights recognises the outstanding achievements and
hard work undertaken by the lifeblood of the sport – the clubs, participants and of course the greyhounds.

The night will culminate with the awarding of the Betfair NSW Greyhound of the Year – and also features the prestigious Club of the Year, Volunteer of the Year and Young Person of the Year awards.

Greyhound Racing New South Wales (GRNSW) assumed the role of hosting the awards in 2009 and the 2010 edition is set to be even bigger and better.

“2009 has been an excellent year for the NSW greyhound racing industry with the sport making some significant announcements, including another prizemoney increase,”
GRNSW Chief Executive Brent Hogan said.

“The racing has been some of the best we have seen and wagering on NSW greyhound racing is at an all time high.

“The awards ceremony was a resounding success in 2009. There was a real buzz within the industry and it further emphasised just how much owners, breeders, trainers and clubs valued winning one of the awards.

“It is also a great night for everyone to let their hair down and enjoy the company of people involved in the sport.”

An exciting new addition in 2010 will be the public’s chance to vote on the Run of the Year. A panel will narrow the list to five ‘runs’ which will be placed on for the public to vote. The greyhound with the most public votes will be awarded the 2009 Run of the Year.

The introduction of a new industry excellence award – the Allen Wheeler Medal – which recognises an individual who has performed with absolute distinction within the NSW greyhound industry, was a highlight of last year’s ceremony and will again be awarded in 2010.

Named in honour of NSW greyhound matriarch Allen Wheeler, his son Paul presented the inaugural Medal to NSW National Coursing Association Grand Patron Jack Bell in 2009.

The Betfair Greyhound of the Year is chosen by a select panel of greyhound media representatives who first determine the best three greyhounds from 2009 and then cast
their votes to decide who will be the 2009 Betfair NSW Greyhound of the Year.

Nominations are now open for Club of the Year, Volunteer of the Year and Young Person of the Year and they can be made through your local club or by downloading from the website.

Nominations close Friday 8 January 2010.

The function is open to anyone with tickets just $110 per person which includes a full three course dinner, drinks and entertainment.

Book your tickets online at Club and corporate packages are also available and these can be purchased from Greyhound Racing NSW by calling (02) 8767 0500.

For more information contact:
GRNSW Public Relations MAnager Tony Richens 8767 0516 or 0437 036 022

Filled Under: Uncategorized