Shepparton Cup Heat Results

Monday night saw the heats of the Group 2 Neatline Homes Shepparton Cup (450m) take place, with the quickest qualifying time of the night going to the sensational sprinter Din’s Son with 25.04 seconds in Heat 2, just outside of the 450metre track record of 24:82 seconds set by Slater.

The win has secured the Karen Leek-trained Din’s Son with a start in his first group race final and should ensure he starts the $27 000 to the winner event as the clear favourite, especially after drawing the favourable box one.

Other heat winners from Monday night progressing onto the finals include Gardam Prince (25.20s), Remo Rubik (25.58s) and Heat 4 winner Alotta Mojo (25.24s), trained by Wayne Vassallo provided last year’s Shepparton Cup runner-up.

Gardam Prince, winner of Heat 1, is the last remaining hope for trainer Darren McDonald to claim a Shepparton Cup since 1998 when he won with Ashigga, after his other heat entries Go Go Allegro and True Kihael failed to qualify.

Gardam Prince now boasts 23 wins from 32 career starts and will go into the finals with an impressive CV that includes Group 2 Warranambool Cup runner-up to Hanify’s Impact.

In-form trainer Geoff Mitchell continued his string of success in Heat 3 when his runner Remo Rubik claimed victory. Remo Rubik is a two time Group 2 winner and will provide some stiff competition in the final.

The Shepparton Cup final will be held Saturday night, October 31.

2009 Shepparton Cup Final Field & Box Draw:

Box        Greyhound                         Trainer

1              Din’s Son                             Karen Leek

2              Dawbilow’s Heaven        Gary Ennis

3              Remo Rubik                        Geoff Mitchell

4              Lady Gaga                           Jason Thompson

5              Skaise                                   Jason Thompson

6              Gardam Prince                  Darren McDonald

7              Vandaliser                           Michael Ellis

8              Alotta Mojo                        Wayne Vassallo


9              Leeroy                                  Dallas Moore

10           Fitzy Bale                             Steve Collins