Macro Meats Crown Classic Heat Results

On Thursday night Sandown Park held the heats of the highly anticipated Group 1 $72 500 Macro Meats Crown Classic with defending champion Queen Lauryn reigning supreme in her heat, Heat 6.

Proving herself as one of the country’s speediest greyhounds, Queen Lauryn was coming from a sensational last start win in the Group 2 WA All Stars Sprint and controversial exclusion from the Group 1 Sky Racing Topgun.

Starting Thursday night’s heat as the $1.60 favourite, she had a solid start from box 3 and the added advantage of a vacant box beside her; box two remaining empty for the race following the scratching of Brislane. She lead through the first turn and then picked up the pace displaying sensational mid-race ability and widening her lead to win by seven and a quarter lengths in a slick 29.42 seconds.

The empathic victory was an impressive six-lengths more than her Crown Classic winning margin last year and was the Lightwood Road circuit’s fourth ever best time – ensuring she will start next week’s final as the odds-on favourite. The last dog to secure back-to-back Crown Classic victories was the Australian Greyhound Racing Association Hall of Fame inductee Paua To Burn in 2004 & 2005.

Queen Lauryn will face stiff competition in the final as Cindeen Shelby, coming from two Group 1 final wins in her last two starts, is well positioned to start from box one after thrashing the competition in Heat 2 to win in 30.02 seconds ahead of Daisy Baxter with Driller’s Own in third.

The Sky Racing Topgun winner started her heat from box six and won by three and a half lengths. Next week’s final will be her eighth run in a Group race final. Trained by Kel Greenough, she is an elite speedster having finished within the top two in every one of her last ten race starts.

The opening heat of the night was won by Boozeroo in 30.18 seconds, and if he is to go on to win the final next Thursday his owner Jeff Guy will secure an additional $10 000 for completing Sandown’s Classic double.

Other runners to qualify for the final include the Lisa Delbridge-trained Aint Workin’, the $22 outsider that won Heat 3, and Delbridge’s second qualifier Flash Of Light who won the final heat of the night in an impressive 29.76 seconds, hammering her rivals by 11 lengths. Flash Of Light will be one to watch in the final, having qualified for four Group race finals and boasting a brilliant best time at Sandown Park of 29.65 seconds.

Heat 4 saw trainer Graeme Bate assure representation in the final with Bora Bale claiming victory and making the final field in a feature race for the first time in her 94 starts.

Arvo’s Chill managed to win Heat 5 for trainer Tina Womann, while the night’s fastest runner-up, Jamie Ennis’ Octare also made next Thursday’s Classic final field.

The Group 1 Macro Meats Crown Classic final (515m) will be held next Thursday night, November 5, at Sandown.

Group 1 $72 500 Macro Meats Crown Classic Final Field & Box Draw:

Box        Greyhound                         Trainer

1              Cindeen Shelby                                Kel Greenough

2              Arvo’s Chill                          Tina Greenough

3              Bora Bale                             Graeme Bate

4              Aint Workin’                       Lisa Delbridge

5              Queen Lauryn                   Tony Brett

6              Octare                                  Jamie Ennis

7              Boozeroo                            Verity Cotton

8              Flash Of Light                     Lisa Delbridge


9              My Lippling                         Graeme Bate

10           Amakler Girl                       Robert Stack